top of page

Why I sold my 2017 JKU for a 2021 Jeep Gladiator!

If you've been following me on instagram, you know that I've been wanting the jeep gladiator since it came out last year. I wanted to buy it as soon as they came out but things didn't go as planned, the pandemic happened and I just couldn't afford it at the time. That being said i bought a 2017 JKU sport instead.


2017 Jeep JKU

I lifted it, put wheels, tires, fenders, etc. and even re-geared it all within a month or two of owning it. I was happy with it for awhile but then i started to get bored with it.... I didn't like how small it was, I wasn't happy with the lift kit I went with, and i just wanted to rebuild it and start over.


I started to throw around the idea of rebuilding it the way i wanted, but part of me was scared i still wouldn't be happy with the build because it wasn't the gladiator. I sat on the idea for a while but finally in January i listed my JKU for sale.


What I didn't Like about my JKU

  • The Lack of power it had (even after the re-gear and tune)

  • The small radio

  • The Pro comp lift i put on it (HORRIBLE off-road)


jeep jk on 35s and 4 inch lift

When i first listed it i for sure thought it would sell quickly. But being on the road and traveling full-time made selling it difficult. After a month or so of it not selling i started thinking that maybe it wasn't selling for a reason and that getting a new jeep just wasn't in the plans for me right now. I just kept a positive mindset and knew that everything would work out when the time was right. And guess what? it did.


Since my jeep wasn't selling private party, i decided that i was just gonna trade it in at a dealership. Even though i knew they weren't gonna give me close to what i wanted. I wanted a gladiator so bad that i was going to settle for $24k from a dealership on a jeep that's well worth over $35k.


Lifted jeep wrangler granite crystal


Flash forward to the night before we were leaving for Vegas to get my Gladiator. I was at the gym and I get a call from a guy who says he's in the parking lot, saw my for sale sign, and that he's a cash buyer. I immediately get super excited but wasn't getting my hopes up because I was used to people just asking me about it, but weren't actually serious about buying it.


So after my workout i meet him at my jeep, he asks a few questions, gives me a deposit and we had a deal! He wants the jeep as soon as possible so we meet up the next day and then off to Vegas James and I went!


Because I didn't wanna waste my time or get ripped off, I called a few dealers and tried working out a deal over the phone. There was only 1 dealership out of idk how many i called that was actually willing to work with me and didn't stop answering when negotiating came about.


Jeep Only in Las Vegas is where i got my Gladiator and i could be happier! The dealership gave me the jeep for an amazing price and even threw in a gladiator hoodie ;)


Meet Raven! He's a 2021 Jeep Gladiator 80th Anniversary edition.


I traded in my 2017 JKU for a 2021 Jeep gladiator

Things I Love about my Gladiator that my JKU didn't have

  • Huge touchscreen radio with NAV

  • Added lockable storage under the seats

  • Perforated seats

  • GPS tracking

  • The truck bed (hehe)

  • The longer wheel base makes it drive like a dream

  • Remote Start

  • AUX switches already installed

  • Dana 44's in front and rear


Jeep Gladiator 80th anniversary interior

Overall I traded in my JKU for a Gladiator not just for the looks but because of all the added features and storage that the gladiator offers. Yes, the wrangler comes with most of the features that the gladiator does but idk there's just something about the Gladiator that pulled me in over the wrangler.




83 views0 comments
bottom of page